News‎ > ‎

Governor attempts to eliminate NOVA

posted Jan 19, 2010, 8:33 AM by Puget Sound Enduro Riders Enduro Riders   [ updated Jan 19, 2010, 9:54 AM ]
Once again, at the request of the Governor, a bill has been introduced to the Washington State Legislature that would eliminate the Nonhighway and Offroad Vehicle Activities (NOVA) advisory committee.


This year it is House Bill HB2617 and it has been assigned to the House State Government and Tribal Affairs Committee.  Please let the committee members know you think this is a bad idea.


Link to bill:  http://apps.leg.wa.gov/documents/bil...Bills/2617.pdf

 Committee member email address:

Hunt.Sam@leg.wa.gov
Appleton.Sherry@leg.wa.gov
Armstrong.Mike@leg.wa.gov
Alexander.Gary@leg.wa.gov
Flannigan.Dennis@leg.wa.gov
Hurst.Christopher@leg.wa.gov
Miloscia.Mark@leg.wa.gov
Taylor.David@leg.wa.gov


Sample email:

Dear Representative Hunt,

I am writing because I am very concerned about the unintended consequences of HB2617 and request you consider a revision.

Please support deleting sections 157 and 158 of HB2617.

These sections would eliminate the Non Highway and Offroad Vehicle Activities advisory committee.

This committee is very important to keep because it is the only link between the offroad vehicle owners, the license tab fees and gas taxes they pay and how those monies are spent.

These citizens agreed voluntarily to have their tab fees increased and to have their portion of the gas tax directed to the State NOVA fund instead of personally receiving the gas tax refund they were legally entitled to.

In return the State agreed to create an advisory board to assure that these funds would be spent in the best interest of the people that voluntarily gave them to the State.

To remove the citizen input that the Non Highway and Offroad Vehicle Activities advisory committee provides would be nothing short of stealing from the very same citizens that willingly gave the state their hard earned money.

If you have any questions about this or any other offroad vehicle related issue, please feel free to contact me anytime.

Respectfully,

you
Comments